Skip to content

God’s Word never returns void

May 31, 2010

With support, things have been going pretty well.  God is teaching me SO much which I’m real thankful for b/c I want growth and teaching.  I’ve been reading Isaiah and I read the part yesterday when he is in the face of God and realizes how unclean and impure he is, God cleanses his lips with burning coal.  Isaiah says “here I am, send me.”  The painful cleansing process was necessary before Isaiah could respond to what God had called him to do.  I thought about this and I feel like this summer, well it’s not painful, but it is a cleansing process and something I have to complete before reporting to what God has called me to.  He has also taught me a lot about giving and changed my heart.  Now that I’m in this position of relying on the Lord completely for support from the body, I see how willing people are to give and support me and how much of a blessing they are in my life, I want to give generously always.

I’m going to start making phone calls tonight, I have a list of about 40, I’m just going to go down the list I guess.  God is removing the fear inside me that I have of asking people allowing me to fully depend on Him.

Since I’ve had so much time and not much going on besides raising support, I’ve had a lot of time to think about this process and things in general, which is good and bad.. but by God’s grace He is teaching me and sanctifying me.

Also I read this in a blog this morning, it’s an excerpt from “A sweet and bitter providence”:

“God’s purposes for his people is to connect us to something far greater than ourselves. God wants us to know that when we follow him, our lives always mean more than we think they do. Naomi had no idea in the land of Moab that God was making her the ancestor of the Messiah. For the Christian there is always a connection between ordinary events of life and the stupendous work of God in history.

Everything we do in obedience to God, no matter how small, is significant. It is part of a cosmic mosaic that God is painting to display the greatness of his powers and kingdom to the world and to the principalities and powers in the heavenly places (Ephesians 3:10). A deep satisfaction of the Christian life is that we are not given over to trifles. Serving a widowed mother in law, gleaning in a field, falling in love, having a baby—for the Christian these things are connected to eternity. They are part of something so much bigger than they seem” (p. 121).

Thank God—as Christians, “We are not given over to trifles!” The ordinary events of life and the extraordinary ones are all “part of something so much bigger than they seem.” And everything we do in obedience to God is significant.

No comments yet

Leave a comment